Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
All of our bargain books are brand new, perfectly readable and represent a tremendous value! The bargain books are, however, publisher overstocks and remainders that TRW purchases at deep discounts. As a result, they may have a small mark through the UPC bar code or a small mark on the side of the book. This is simply to mark the books so they cannot be sent back to a publisher. Because of this, bargain books are non returnable to TRW unless they are damaged. Please consider this before ordering.
PLEASE NOTE:
Bargain Books are not eligible for Library Processing
Department Nineteen
ISBN: 9781595144850
Author: Hill, Will
Publisher: Razorbill
Published: February 2012
Retail: $9.99    OUR PRICE: $1.99
     You Save 80%
Binding Type: Paperback
Qty:
Annotation: After watching his father's brutal murder, sixteen-year-old Jamie Carpenter joins Department 19, a secret government agency, where he learns of the existence of vampires and the history that ties him to the team destined to stop them.
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Young Adult Fiction | Dystopian
- Young Adult Fiction | Boys & Men
- Young Adult Fiction | Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Dewey: FIC
Series: Department Nineteen
Target Grade: 10-12
Grade level: 10-12
Physical Information: 1.50" H x 150.00" L x 5.50" W
Bargain Category: Science Fiction, High School, Fantasy, Action & Adventure
Grade level(s): 10th, 11th, 12th
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2011 Fall)
Jamie Carpenter, descendant of one of six families that made a pact to rid the world of vampires, joins Department 19 the day his mother is kidnapped. Hill alternates between the creation of the Department and Jamie's premature submersion into the world of monsters--both supernatural and human. A fast-paced, Darren Shan-ish whirlwind of action and gore characterizes the story. Copyright 2011 Horn Book Guide Reviews.
Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2011 February #1)

Hill hits the ground running in this explosive debut, an action thriller inspired by a genre classic. Jamie Carpenter's father died as a traitor to his country, but two years later, 16-year-old Jamie discovers his father's secret life when vampires attack and he's saved by Frankenstein's notorious monster. Taken to the ultra-secretive Department 19, a government organization founded by Dracula's killers (and run by their descendants) to protect England from the supernatural, Jamie gets a crash course in a world he never knew existed. When his mother is kidnapped by vampires, Jamie sets out to rescue her, aided by the immortal Frank-enstein (who took his maker's name) and an untrustworthy vampire girl to whom he's attracted. As Jamie unravels hidden agendas, deals with assorted enemies, and faces the triumphs and tragedies of generations past, he's drawn deeper into a plot that could tip the scales between humans and vampires. Alternating between Jamie's desperate quest and episodes set in Department 19's storied past, this is a nonstop thrill ride right up to the cliffhanger ending. This cinematic adrenaline rush has the makings of a surefire hit. Ages 14–up. (Apr.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2010 PWxyz LLC
Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2011 June)

Gr 9 Up—Jaime Carpenter is a sulky, antisocial teen. Having moved several times in the past two years, he is the perpetual new kid and constant target of bullies. But what does he expect after his father is gunned down by the authorities for aiding terrorists? Now more sins of the father are being visited on the son. Jaime is attacked and his mother is kidnapped by a being of unbelievable power. The teen is only spared his mother's fate when Frankenstein's monster appears on the scene wielding strange weapons. It whisks Jaime away to a hidden government installation occupied by Department Nineteen, or Blacklight, the most secret of secret agencies. He soon discovers that vampires, like Frankenstein's monster, are real and are an actual threat to Britain and the rest of the world. He is told that Stoker's Dracula and Shelley's Frankenstein are accurate recordings of historical events. He also learns that his father was a slayer of vampires and other dangerous creatures. The director of Blacklight reluctantly agrees to let Jaime and Frankenstein search for Mrs. Carpenter with the help of a captured teen vampire to whom Jaime is unnervingly attracted. There is plenty of action and gore to hook even reluctant readers despite the 500-plus pages. The author skillfully blends history, classical fiction, and teen fantasy into a unique novel. There is some weak dialogue with characters abruptly switching emotional gears, but the plot more than makes up for it. Fans of Darren Shan and Marcus Sedgwick will eat this up.—Anthony C. Doyle, Livingston High School, CA

[Page 119]. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.