Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
All of our bargain books are brand new, perfectly readable and represent a tremendous value! The bargain books are, however, publisher overstocks and remainders that TRW purchases at deep discounts. As a result, they may have a small mark through the UPC bar code or a small mark on the side of the book. This is simply to mark the books so they cannot be sent back to a publisher. Because of this, bargain books are non returnable to TRW unless they are damaged. Please consider this before ordering.
PLEASE NOTE:
Bargain Books are not eligible for Library Processing
wtf
ISBN: 9781442493681
Author: Lerangis, Peter
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Published: June 2013
Retail: $9.99    OUR PRICE: $1.99
     You Save 80%
Binding Type: Paperback
Qty:
Annotation: Rereleased in a larger trim size, a high-stakes tale told from six alternating points of view follows the characters' adventures on a wild Friday night of rule breaking and extreme limits driven by a lust, greed and a desire for fun. By the author of 39 Clues: The Sword Thief. Simultaneous.
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes - General (see Also Headings Under Family)
- Juvenile Fiction | Law & Crime
Dewey: FIC
Target Grade: 10-12
Grade level: 10-12
Physical Information: 0.75" H x 75.00" L x 5.75" W
Bargain Category: Social Issues, High School, Chapter Books
Grade level(s): 10th, 11th, 12th
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s): Lerangis, Peter: - Peter Lerangis is the author of many books for young readers, including wtf, Smiler's Bones, the Watchers series, The Sword Thief, and the New York Times bestselling 39 Clues series. Peter lives with his wife and two sons in New York City. Visit him at PeterLerangis.com.
Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2014 Spring)
In a novel previously published in paperback, six Manhattan teens from an elite high school have ambitious plans for the evening. But conflicting motives and some bad luck cause their plans to go awry. Told from alternating viewpoints, this fast-paced nonlinear narrative is engaging at times, but an unlikable cast makes it difficult to root for anyone.
Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2009 November #3)

Action-packed from first page to last, this contemporary tale of a "deal-gone-wrong" rotates among six New York teenagers, including Cam, the instigator of a plan to sell drugs at a suburban party; Byron, his partner in crime; and Jimmy, who's just looking for a good time. The first stroke of bad fortune occurs when the boys' car crashes into a deer. Presuming Cam to be dead, his companions flee and are eventually separated. From that point on, Byron, Jimmy, and Cam (who survives with only minor injuries) embark on very different adventures, with danger and surprises around nearly every corner. The book's message, which remains hazy until the last few pages when ironies come to light, is overshadowed by bizarre events—cat-and-mouse chases, miraculous recoveries, convoluted plot twists, and farfetched confrontations. Lerangis (the Drama Club series) particularly delights in metaphor—one character's Long Island accent is "thick as Manischewitz," and the boys' ill-fated car "was a big What's-Wrong-with-This scenario." But while suspenseful, the book comes off as gimmicky, straining too hard to be hip. Both the characters and their motives remain underdeveloped. Ages 14–up. (Nov.)

[Page 55]. Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.
Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2010 February)

Gr 9 Up—Shortly after nine p.m. on a Friday evening in October, things fall apart for six young adults tangled together by drug deals, debts, and greed. The cinematic narrative flashes forward and back and alternates among the various characters' viewpoints over the course of one night. Lerangis's novel demonstrates how one stupid decision can have a wicked snowball effect that leaves everyone asking, "WTF"? Except that, more times than not, the acronym is not used. Fans of David Levithan and Rachel Cohn's Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist (Knoft, 2006) will appreciate this even faster paced, smart-aleck-toned partying misadventure, and the steady action and short chapters will appeal to reluctant readers. The only real downfall is the enigmatic ending. Fortunately, the epilogue, which reads like a movie postscript, more than makes up for that flaw.—Terri Clark, Smoky Hill Library, Centennial, CO

[Page 114]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.