Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
All of our bargain books are brand new, perfectly readable and represent a tremendous value! The bargain books are, however, publisher overstocks and remainders that TRW purchases at deep discounts. As a result, they may have a small mark through the UPC bar code or a small mark on the side of the book. This is simply to mark the books so they cannot be sent back to a publisher. Because of this, bargain books are non returnable to TRW unless they are damaged. Please consider this before ordering.
PLEASE NOTE:
Bargain Books are not eligible for Library Processing
Lights, Camera, Cook!
ISBN: 9780544912601
Author: Harper, Charise Mericle/ Blard-Quintard, Aurélie (
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Published: July 2017
Retail: $12.99    OUR PRICE: $2.99
     You Save 77%
Binding Type: Hardcover
Qty:
Annotation: A series for fans of MasterChef Jr. and Kids Cook-Off features four tween contestants who prepare to enter a televised cooking competition that challenges their interpersonal and culinary skills, in a debut entry that is complemented by educational cooking tips. 50,000 first printing.
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Cooking & Food
- Juvenile Fiction | Performing Arts - Television & Radio
- Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes - Friendship
Dewey: FIC
LCCN: 2016038369
Lexile Measure: 600
Series: Next Best Junior Chef
Target Grade: 3-4
Grade level: 3-4
Physical Information: 0.75" H x 75.00" L x 6.00" W
Bargain Category: Upper Elementary, Reference, Growing Up, Early Elementary, Art/Music
Grade level(s): 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s): Blard-Quintard, Aurelie: - Aurélie Blard-Quintard studied classical drawing in Paris and earned a Master of Communication Media degree, specializing in stop-motion animation, in Bristol, England. She lives with her family and their cat in Strasbourg, France.Harper, Charise Mericle: -

Charise Mericle Harper is the author and illustrator of many books for children, including the Just Grace series and the Next Best Junior Chef series. Charise lives in Oregon. Visit Charise at chariseharper.com and on Twitter at @ChariseHarper.


Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2018 Spring)
Four preteens participate in a TV cooking competition. As the contestants seesaw between confidence and nervousness, friendship and rivalry, triumphs and flubs, they learn about cooking and even more about themselves. Scattered interview-style speech bubbles let readers in on contestants' personal thoughts; emotive illustrations are also included. Who will be eliminated? Readers will excitedly tune in to the series' next episode for answers. Copyright 2018 Horn Book Guide Reviews.
Reviewed by PW Annex Reviews (Publishers Weekly Annex Reviews)

Four food-savvy kids face off in the first round of a TV cooking show in this snappy launch title in the Next Best Junior Chef series. Eleven-year-old Caroline is coolly confident, army kid Tate has energy to spare, nervous Rae faints when she first takes the stage, and brazen Oliver has "two missions: to win and look good on TV." Fans of Top Chef Junior and other TV cooking competitions will be right at home with the trappings Harper liberally draws on: celebrity chefs' demanding yet supportive demeanors, contestants' off- and on-camera anxieties, and meticulous descriptions of their gastronomic concoctions. Blard-Quintard's chic b&w spot illustrations capture the children's emotional ups and downs as they wrestle with surprise ingredients, plan their dream food trucks, and try to negotiate partnered challenges. It's an entertaining behind-the-scenes look at ambitious foodie kids doing what they do best; readers should be eager to discover who will be forced to hang up their aprons in the next book. Ages 7–10. Author's agent: Amy Rennert, Amy Rennert Agency. (July)

Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly Annex.
Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2017 May)

Gr 2–5—Food-infused fiction that combines celebrity chefs, reality TV, and a focus on healthy eating. This first installment in an anticipated series is about a lively televised cooking competition featuring four talented tweens: energetic Tate, charming Rae, worldly Caroline, and hypercompetitive Oliver. Through numerous interviews, taste tests, and chopping challenges, readers get to know each character. The black-and-white illustrations complement the story and add humor. There is a bonus in the back matter that includes techniques for aspiring young chefs. VERDICT A mouthwatering read for all foodies. Be sure to save room for the next two volumes.—Paula Huddy, The Blake School-Highcroft Campus, Wayzata, MN

Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.