Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
Broken Lands
Contributor(s): Maberry, Jonathan (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 1534406379     ISBN-13: 9781534406377
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Retail: $19.99OUR PRICE: $14.59  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $13.39   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $12.79   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Hardcover - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: December 2018
Qty:

Annotation: New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Maberry returns to the world of Rot & Ruin with this first novel in a brand-new series that’s more thrilling and filled with exceptionally terrifying adventures.

Ever since her mother’s death, Gabriella “Gutsy” Gomez has spent her days flying under the radar. But when her mother’s undead body is returned to her doorstep from the grave and Gutsy witnesses a pack of ravagers digging up Los Muertos—her mother’s name for the undead—she realizes that life finds you no matter how hard you try to hide from it.

Meanwhile, Benny Imura and his gang set out on a journey to finish what Captain Joe Ledger started: they’re going to find a cure. After what they went through in the Rot and Ruin, they think they’ve seen it all, but as they venture into new and unexplored territory, they soon learn that the zombies they fought before were nothing compared to what they’ll face in the wild beyond the peace and safety of their fortified town.

Click for more in this series: Broken Lands
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Young Adult Fiction | Zombies
- Young Adult Fiction | Action & Adventure - Survival Stories
- Young Adult Fiction | Horror
Dewey: FIC
LCCN: 2018001523
Age Level: 13-17
Grade Level: 8-12
Lexile Measure: 790 HL (High-Low)
Series: Broken Lands
Physical Information: 1.7" H x 6" W x 8.2" (1.30 lbs) 544 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s): Maberry, Jonathan: - Jonathan Maberry is a New York Times bestselling author, five-time Bram Stoker Award winner, and comic book writer. He writes in multiple genres including suspense, thriller, horror, science fiction, fantasy, and adventure; and he writes for adults, teens, and middle grade. His works include the Joe Ledger thrillers, Glimpse, the Rot & Ruin series, the Dead of Night series, The Wolfman, The X-Files Origins: Devil's Advocate, Mars One, and many others. Several of his works are in development for film and TV, including V Wars, which will be a Netflix original series. He is the editor of high-profile anthologies including the X-Files books, Aliens: Bug Hunt, Out of Tune, Hardboiled Horror, Baker Street Irregulars, Nights of the Living Dead, and others. He lives in Del Mar, California. Visit him at JonathanMaberry.com and on Twitter (@JonathanMaberry) and Facebook.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2018 November)

Gr 8 Up—Revisit "Rot and Ruin" with Maberry's latest postapocalyptic zombie tome. Split mainly between the perspectives of Gabriella "Gutsy" Gomez and much-beloved protagonist Benny Imura, this volume picks up shortly after the events of Fire & Ash. While Benny and his friends are helping to establish a new safe haven in California, Gutsy's in New Mexico burying her mother—again. The teens' worlds are soon thrown into chaos as mysterious forces and dangerous strangers threaten their fragile security. While the story's overall premise is exciting—if a tad redundant after the previous installments—Maberry packs too much exposition into the first 100 pages. Readers may feel disoriented by this quick introduction to such a fully developed world; additionally, they are given an infodump about the characters' skin colors, sizes, sexual orientations, relationship statuses, and religious ideologies. In his effort to orientate readers, in this world, Maberry has sacrificed nuance entirely. VERDICT Fans of Maberry's "Rot & Ruin" series may be excited to revisit this world, but newcomers should begin with the original books before diving into this title.—Kaitlin Frick, New York Public Library

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!