Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
Broken Lands
Contributor(s): Maberry, Jonathan

View larger image

ISBN: 1534406379     ISBN-13: 9781534406377
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Retail: $19.99OUR PRICE: $14.59  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $13.39   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $12.79   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Hardcover
Published: December 2018
Qty:

Annotation: While Gutsy grapples with the loss of her quiet existence when her late mother returns from the dead, Benny and his friend take up Joe Ledger's effort in an unexplored territory to find a cure for a zombie plague. By the award-winning author of the Rot & Ruin series. 30,000 first printing.

Click for more in this series: Broken Lands
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Zombies; Fiction.
Survival; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2018001523
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Series: Broken Lands
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 5.50" W x 1.25" (1.30 lbs) 533 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2018 November)

Gr 8 Up—Revisit "Rot and Ruin" with Maberry's latest postapocalyptic zombie tome. Split mainly between the perspectives of Gabriella "Gutsy" Gomez and much-beloved protagonist Benny Imura, this volume picks up shortly after the events of Fire & Ash. While Benny and his friends are helping to establish a new safe haven in California, Gutsy's in New Mexico burying her mother—again. The teens' worlds are soon thrown into chaos as mysterious forces and dangerous strangers threaten their fragile security. While the story's overall premise is exciting—if a tad redundant after the previous installments—Maberry packs too much exposition into the first 100 pages. Readers may feel disoriented by this quick introduction to such a fully developed world; additionally, they are given an infodump about the characters' skin colors, sizes, sexual orientations, relationship statuses, and religious ideologies. In his effort to orientate readers, in this world, Maberry has sacrificed nuance entirely. VERDICT Fans of Maberry's "Rot & Ruin" series may be excited to revisit this world, but newcomers should begin with the original books before diving into this title.—Kaitlin Frick, New York Public Library

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!