Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
A Danger to Herself and Others
Contributor(s): Sheinmel, Alyssa (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 1492697745     ISBN-13: 9781492697749
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Retail: $10.99OUR PRICE: $8.02  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $7.36   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $7.03   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our low price guarantee

Binding Type: Paperback - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: January 2020
Qty:
Temporarily out of stock - Will ship within 2 to 5 weeks
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Young Adult Fiction | Thrillers & Suspense
- Young Adult Fiction | Mysteries & Detective Stories
- Young Adult Fiction | Social Themes - Mental Illness
Dewey: FIC
Age Level: 14-17
Grade Level: 9-12
Lexile Measure: 790
Physical Information: 0.9" H x 5.5" W x 8.2" (0.80 lbs) 368 pages
Features: Ikids, Price on Product
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:

A compelling and beautifully told story. --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes a dark psychological contemporary about a teenage girl who is institutionalized after an accident at her summer program, perfect for fans of We Were Liars and I'll Give You the Sun.

Hannah knows there's been a mistake. She doesn't need to be institutionalized. What happened to her roommate at that summer program was an accident. As soon as the doctors and judge figure out that she isn't a danger to herself or others, she can go home to start her senior year. Those college applications aren't going to write themselves. Until then, she's determined to win over the staff and earn some privileges so she doesn't lose her mind to boredom.

Then Lucy arrives. Lucy has her own baggage, and she's the perfect project to keep Hannah's focus off all she is missing at home. But Lucy may be the one person who can get Hannah to confront the secrets she's avoiding--and the dangerous games that landed her in confinement in the first place.

Packed with intrigue and suspense, A Danger to Herself and Others is a good choice for readers who loved Suicide Notes for Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten and Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen McManus

A great pick for anyone who wants:

  • emotional novels
  • books about mental illness
  • suspenseful reads

Also by Alyssa Sheinmel:
What Kind of Girl
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)

Praise for A Danger to Herself and Others:
A thrilling page-turner.--School Library Journal, *STARRED REVIEW*
A tense and terrific read.--Natalie D. Richards, author of One Was Lost and Six Months Later
A great story full of mystery, heartbreak, and hope.-- Jennifer Shaw Wolf, author of Dead Girls Don't Lie and Breaking Beautiful
Intense, compelling, and wholly original.--Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned
This compelling character study begins like a thriller--the mystery of what happened to her friend Agnes draws considerable suspense... it becomes a nuanced exploration of mental illness.--Booklist
A respectful, authentic rendering of mental illness and treatment.--Kirkus


Contributor Bio(s): Sheinmel, Alyssa: - Alyssa Sheinmel is the bestselling author of several novels for young adults including A Danger to Herself and Others and Faceless. She is the co-author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Haunting of Sunshine Girl and its sequel, The Awakening of Sunshine Girl. She lives in Brooklyn. Follow Alyssa on Instagram and Twitter @AlyssaSheinmel or visit her online at alyssasheinmel.com.
 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

Two Can Keep a Secret
Like a Love Story
Heroine
Monday's Not Coming
The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism & Treache
The Haunted
A Stolen Life - Reprint Edition
Courting Darkness
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!