Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
All We Could Have Been
Contributor(s): Carter, T. E.

View larger image

ISBN: 1250172969     ISBN-13: 9781250172969
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Retail: $17.99OUR PRICE: $13.13  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $12.05   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $11.51   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Hardcover
Published: April 2019
Qty:

Annotation: Forced to hide her identity in different schools after her older brother commits a shattering crime, Lexie struggles with PTSD while endeavoring to separate her brother's horrific act from herself. By the author of I Stop Somewhere. Simultaneous eBook.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Brothers and sisters; Fiction.
Post-traumatic stress disorder; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2018019377
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 5.00" W x 1.00" (0.80 lbs) 291 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2019 April)

Gr 9 Up—After a horrible tragedy thrusts Lexi Stewart into a harsh national spotlight, she constantly moves from place to place, staying with different family members and changing her name to avoid the public eye and the judgment of her peers. As long as no one around her knows who she really is, she is safe to blend into the crowd and disappear. When she starts her senior year, however, she begins to realize that she is growing close to the people around her, and she must decide if she wants to keep herself at a distance or finally let her friends into her life. Though Lexi's search for control and safety is conscientiously realized, the people around her are one-dimensional, particularly her classmates at school. The love story at the heart of the book is underwhelming and superfluous, though there is a refreshing and nuanced representation of asexuality within Lexi's friend group. Overall, Lexi's motivations and decisions are unconvincing and her peers remain flat and underdeveloped. VERDICT Fans of Megan Miranda and E. Lockhart may find moments of interest in Lexi's story, particularly in her relationship with her brother and the details of their shared tragedy, but those without a vested interest in the genre may do well to choose another title.—Madison Bishop, Plymouth Public Library, Plymouth, MA

Copyright 2019 School Library Journal.
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!