Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
The Dark Is Rising
Contributor(s): Susan Cooper (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 0689829833     ISBN-13: 9780689829833
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Retail: $7.99OUR PRICE: $5.83  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $5.35   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $5.11   Save More!

  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Paperback - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: November 2018

Annotation: On his 11th birthday, Will Stanton learns that he is the last born of the Old Ones. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid in the final battle between the Dark and Light.

Click for more in this series: Dark Is Rising Sequence (Paperback)
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Classics
- Juvenile Fiction | Fantasy & Magic
- Juvenile Fiction | Action & Adventure - General
Dewey: FIC
LCCN: 8603647
Age Level: 8-12
Grade Level: 3-7
Lexile Measure: 920(Not Available)
Guided Reading: X (Grade 6)
Series: Dark Is Rising Sequence (Paperback)
Physical Information: 0.9" H x 5.1" W x 7.6" (0.50 lbs) 232 pages
- Cultural Region - British Isles
Features: Ikids, Price on Product, Table of Contents
Review Citations: Newsweek 07/13/2009 pg. 48
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 109
Reading Level: 6.2   Interest Level: Middle Grades   Point Value: 13.0
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:
On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift -- that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Dark and the Light. And for the twelve days of Christmas, while the Dark is rising, life for Will is full of wonder, terror, and delight.

Contributor Bio(s): Cooper, Susan: - Susan Cooper is one of our foremost children's authors; her classic five-book fantasy sequence The Dark Is Rising has sold millions of copies worldwide. Her many books have won the Newbery Medal, a Newbery Honor, and the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, and been shortlisted five times for the Carnegie Medal. She combines fantasy with history in Victory (a Washington Post Top Ten for Children novel), King of Shadows and Ghost Hawk, and her magical The Boggart and the Monster, second in a trilogy, won the Scottish Arts Council's Children's Book Award. Susan Cooper lives on a saltmarsh island in Massachusetts, and you can visit her online at TheLostLand.com.
Customers who bought this item also bought...

Freak the Mighty
The Prisoner of Cell 25 / Rise of the Elgen /Elgen Guard Handbook
A Single Shard
Okay for Now - Reprint Edition
The Wednesday Wars - Reprint Edition
The New Olympians
Dragonwings - 25 Annual Edition
Number the Stars
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!