Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
The Day the Crayons Quit
Contributor(s): Daywalt, Drew (Author), Jeffers, Oliver (Illustrator)

View larger image

ISBN: 0399255370     ISBN-13: 9780399255373
Publisher: Philomel Books
Retail: $17.99OUR PRICE: $13.13  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $12.05   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $11.51   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Hardcover - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: June 2013
Qty:
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
- Juvenile Fiction | Concepts - Colors
Dewey: E
LCCN: 2012030384
Age Level: 3-7
Grade Level: Preschool-2
Lexile Measure: 730 AD (Adult Directed Text)
Physical Information: 0.5" H x 10.2" W x 10.2" (1.05 lbs) 30 pages
Features: Dust Cover, Ikids, Illustrated, Price on Product, Price on Product - Canadian
Awards: Buckeye Children's Book Award, Winner, Grades K-2, 2015
North Carolina Children's Book Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2015
Young Hoosier Book Award, Nominee, Picture Book, 2016
Golden Sower Award, Nominee, Primary, 2016
Nutmeg Book Award, Winner, Elementary, 2015
Nevada Young Readers' Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2015
South Carolina Childrens, Junior and Young Adult Book Award, Nominee, Picture Book, 2015
Red Clover Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2015
Monarch Award, Winner, Grades K-3, 2015
Keystone to Reading Book Award, Winner, Primary, 2015
Black-Eyed Susan Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2014
E.B. White Read Aloud Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2014
Capitol Choices: Noteworthy Books for Children and Teens, Recommended, Up to Seven, 2014
Grand Canyon Reader Award, Winner, Picture, 2015
Volunteer State Book Awards, Nominee, Primary, 2015
Colorado Children's Book Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2015
Golden Archer Award, Winner, Primary, 2015
Ladybug Picture Book Award, Winner, Children's Picture, 2015
Washington Children's Choice Picture Book Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2015
Beehive Awards, Nominee, Picture, 2015
Flicker Tale Children's Book Award, Winner, Picture Book, 2015
Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award, Nominee, Grades K-3, 2015
Bluebonnet Awards, Winner, Children's, 2015
Greenaway Medal, Nominee, Illustrator, 2014
California Young Reader Medal, Nominee, Primary, 2016
Star of the North Picture Book Award, Nominee, Grades K-2, 2015
Review Citations: Publishers Weekly 04/15/2013
Kirkus Reviews 05/01/2013
Kirkus Bea Big Book Guide 05/15/2013 pg. 43
School Library Journal 07/01/2013 pg. 59
Booklist 07/01/2013 pg. 77
New York Times Book Review 08/25/2013 pg. 16
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2013 - Book Of Special Distinction
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2013 pg. 74
SLJ's Best Books 12/01/2013 pg. 31
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2014 - Superior,Well Above Average
BookPage 07/01/2013
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 159597
Reading Level: 3.8   Interest Level: Lower Grades   Point Value: 0.5
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:
The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough They quit Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking--each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.


Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit

Amazon's 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year

A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013

Goodreads' 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year

Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* "Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we've got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike." -BCCB, starred review

"Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights." -Booklist

"Fresh and funny." -The Wall Street Journal

"This book will have children asking to have it read again and again." -Library Media Connection

* "This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime." -School Library Journal, starred review

* "These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Utterly original." -San Francisco Chronicle

 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

The Day the Crayons Came Home
I Wanna Iguana
The Recess Queen
I Wanna New Room
Giving Tree
Where the Wild Things Are - 50 ANV Edition
Each Kindness
Memoirs of a Goldfish
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!