Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
Monday's Not Coming Reprint Edition
Contributor(s): Jackson, Tiffany D.

View larger image

ISBN: 0062422685     ISBN-13: 9780062422682
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Retail: $9.99OUR PRICE: $7.29  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $6.69   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $6.39   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Paperback
Published: April 2019
Qty:

Annotation:

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl’s disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth.

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable—more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried.

When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year’s rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best—and only—friend more than ever. But Monday’s mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday’s sister April is even less help.

As Claudia digs deeper into her friend’s disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she’s gone?


Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Missing persons; Fiction.
Friendship; Fiction.
High school students; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2019003496
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 10-12, Age 15-18
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.00" H x 5.00" W x 1.25" (0.80 lbs) 435 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2018 Fall)
When Monday doesn't show up on the first day of eighth grade--or in the days after that--Claudia undertakes a heartwrenching quest to find her missing best friend. The search leads readers through a winding, nonlinear tale of sisterhood, identity, loss, and secrets kept and revealed. Social issues such as neighborhood gentrification, race, poverty, as well as the healing of connection and the destruction in disconnection, underlie the gripping plot. Copyright 2018 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by Horn Book Magazine Reviews (Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2018 #4)
It's the end of the summer before eighth grade, and Claudia can't wait to see her best friend, Monday. When she doesn't hear from Monday in the days leading up to school, Claudia is confused. Her confusion turns to worry when Monday doesn't show up for the first day--and then to terror when she doesn't show up in the days after that. The horrible realization that Monday is missing sends Claudia on a heart-wrenching quest to find her friend. The search for Monday leads readers through a winding tale of sisterhood, identity, and loss, in which secrets between friends are kept and revealed. The nonlinear narrative can be challenging to follow at times, but it holds readers' attention as we, too, become invested in learning what happened to Monday--and subsequently what happens to Claudia. In addition to a gripping plot line, underlying social issues bubble beneath the surface, such as neighborhood gentrification (the story is set in and around the predominantly African American Southeast quadrant of Washington, DC), race, poverty, community, the healing of connection, and the destruction in disconnection. Ultimately, the very real question of how a young girl can go missing for so long without alarm will haunt readers long after the last page is turned. monique harris Copyright 2018 Horn Book Magazine Reviews.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2018 April #4)

Jackson's sophomore novel, following 2017's acclaimed Allegedly, features another ripped-from-the-headlines premise that will keep readers guessing through the final pages. After a summer in Georgia with her grandmother, Claudia returns to Washington, D.C., ready to take on eighth grade with her best friend, Monday, even though Monday didn't respond to any of Claudia's letters over the past two months. Claudia soon finds, though, that Monday is gone. Stories about where she is don't add up and no one seems concerned, but Claudia can't shake the feeling that Monday might be in real trouble. Time shifts—in chapters such as "Before the Before," "The Before," and "The After"—create a measured and intense buildup as Claudia realizes that Monday was keeping painful and potentially dangerous secrets. Claudia's mother's frequent reminder to check in at home—"Breadcrumbs, Claudia. Always good to leave breadcrumbs"—prompts both Claudia and the reader to remain vigilant. Jackson's characters and their heart-wrenching story linger long after the final page, urging readers to advocate for those who are disenfranchised and forgotten by society and the system. Ages 13–up. Agent: Natalie Lakosil, Bradford Literary Agency. (June)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2018 April)

Gr 9 Up—Galvanized by real-life accounts of black girls whose disappearances went unnoticed, the author depicts a young African American teen unwilling to let her best friend fall through the cracks. Claudia frets when Monday misses the first day of eighth grade, and her worries increase when weeks, and then months, go by with no sign of the girl. Both outsiders, the two have always tried to protect each other: academically gifted Monday keeps teachers from realizing that Claudia has learning disabilities, and Claudia's stable family gives Monday a respite from her often erratic home life. Monday's mother and older sister offer conflicting stories about where she is, and even sympathetic adults are little help—Claudia alone becomes Monday's champion. Just as Jackson's suspenseful debut, Allegedly, explored the corrupt justice system, this thought-provoking thriller examines issues such as abuse, gentrification, and the marginalization of people of color with nuance and sensitivity. The narrative deftly moves back and forth between past and present, building to a devastating conclusion. The Washington, DC, setting is superbly rendered, and the author presents a rich portrayal of the girls' bond, displaying an intuitive understanding of adolescent friendship. VERDICT A spellbinding, profoundly moving choice for YA collections.—Mahnaz Dar, School Library Journal

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.
 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter - Reprint Edition
Dear Martin - Reprint Edition
Internment
This Is Where It Ends - Reprint Edition
Truly Devious - Reprint Edition
The Poet X
Warcross - Reprint Edition
Anger Is a Gift - Reprint Edition
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!