Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
Contributor(s): Krauss, Ruth (Author), Sendak, Maurice (Illustrator)

View larger image

ISBN: 006027994X     ISBN-13: 9780060279943
Publisher: HarperCollins
OUR PRICE: $18.69  

Binding Type: Hardcover - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: May 2005

Annotation: First published in 1948, Krauss's 27-word poem created a charming little universe. Now, Caldecott Medalist Maurice Sendak turns her bears into a troupe of players in a slapstick comedy starring a familiar boy in a wolf suit. Illustrations.
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
- Juvenile Fiction | Animals - Bears
Dewey: E
LCCN: 2004105682
Age Level: 4-8
Grade Level: Preschool-3
Lexile Measure: 180 BR (Beginning Reading)
Physical Information: 0.38" H x 9.12" W x 7.76" (0.71 lbs) 24 pages
Features: Ikids, Illustrated, Price on Product
Review Citations: Publishers Weekly 04/18/2005 pg. 61
Ingram Advance 06/01/2005 pg. 47
Kirkus Review - Children 06/01/2005 pg. 639
School Library Journal 06/01/2005 pg. 120
Horn Book Magazine 07/01/2005 pg. 453
Booklist 06/01/2005 pg. 1821
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2005 pg. 254 - Superior,Well Above Average
SLJ's Best Books 12/01/2005 pg. 46
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:
With just 27 words, the inimitable Ruth Krauss created a charming little universe.

Now Maurice Sendak has turned her bears into a troupe of players in a slapstick comedy starring a familiar boy in a wolf suit.

Contributor Bio(s): Sendak, Maurice: -

Maurice Sendak's children's books have sold over 30 million copies and have been translated into more than 40 languages. He received the 1964 Caldecott Medal for Where the Wild Things Are and is the creator of such classics as In the Night Kitchen, Outside Over There, Higglety Pigglety Pop!, and Nutshell Library. In 1970 he received the international Hans Christian Andersen Medal for Illustration, in 1983 he received the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award from the American Library Association, and in 1996 he received a National Medal of Arts in recognition of his contribution to the arts in America. In 2003, Sendak received the first Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, an annual international prize for children's literature established by the Swedish government.

Krauss, Ruth: -

Ruth Krauss was one of the most widely celebrated children's book authors of all time. Her long list of award-winning books includes The Carrot Seed, The Happy Day, A Hole Is to Dig, Open House for Butterflies, A Very Special House, and many others. Her books continue to be read and cherished by children throughout the world.

Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!