Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
All of our bargain books are brand new, perfectly readable and represent a tremendous value! The bargain books are, however, publisher overstocks and remainders that TRW purchases at deep discounts. As a result, they may have a small mark through the UPC bar code or a small mark on the side of the book. This is simply to mark the books so they cannot be sent back to a publisher. Because of this, bargain books are non returnable to TRW unless they are damaged. Please consider this before ordering.
PLEASE NOTE:
Bargain Books are not eligible for Library Processing
Loki's Wolves
ISBN: 9780316204972
Author: Armstrong, K. L./ Marr, M. A.
Publisher: Little Brown & Co
Published: April 2014
Retail: $8.99    OUR PRICE: $1.99
     You Save 78%
Binding Type: Paperback
Qty:
Annotation: "The runes have spoken. We have our champion...Matthew Thorsen."

Matt hears the words, but he can't believe them. He's Thor's representative? Destined to fight trolls, monstrous wolves and giant serpents...or the world ends? He's only thirteen.

While Matt knew he was a modern-day descendent of Thor, he's always lived a normal kid's life. In fact, most people in the small town of Blackwell, South Dakota, are direct descendants of either Thor or Loki, including Matt's classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke. No big deal.

But now Ragnarok is coming, and it's up to the champions to fight in the place of the long-dead gods. Matt, Laurie, and Fen's lives will never be the same as they race to put together an unstoppable team, find Thor's hammer and shield, and prevent the end of the world.
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Legends, Myths, Fables | Norse
- Juvenile Fiction | Action & Adventure
- Juvenile Fiction | Social Issues | Friendship
Library of Congress Subjects:
Adventure and adventurers; Fiction.
Supernatural; Fiction.
Shapeshifting; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2014013207
Lexile Measure: 680
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 4-6, Age 9-11
Series: Blackwell Pages
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Target Grade: 4-6
Grade level: 4-6
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 5.25" L x 1.00" W
Bargain Category: Upper Elementary, Middle School, Action & Adventure
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2013 March #2)

Bestselling urban fantasists Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr combine forces to produce a solid fantasy about contemporary descendants of the Norse gods. Thirteen-year-old Matt Thorsen lives in a South Dakota town dominated by Thor's distant family, and he has always been somewhat smug about his superhuman heritage. However, Loki's descendants, including cousins Fen and Laurie Brekke, resent the Thorsens' domination. Then the three learn that Ragnarök is coming and that Matt is to reenact Thor's battle with the Midgard Serpent. Matt, Laurie, and Fen, who is a shape-changer like Loki, seek out other descendants of the gods, aided by the Norns and the Valkyries, but opposed by various werewolves and trolls. Arm-strong and Marr have fun seeding their characters with the strengths and foibles the gods are known for (Fen and Laurie divvy up the best and worst parts of the trickster god Loki). This rousing, fast-paced adventure, first in the Blackwell Pages trilogy, will please readers who loved John Stephens's Books of Beginning and Rick Riordan's modern-day twists on ancient myth. Ages 8–12. Agent: (for Armstrong) Sarah Heller, Helen Heller Agency; (for Marr) Merrilee Heifetz, Writers House. (May)

[Page ]. Copyright 2013 PWxyz LLC
Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2013 July)
Gr 4–6—Loki's Wolves brings Norse mythology to the modern world. Matt Thorsen, the son of a police officer, lives in the shadow of his older brothers, feeling as if he can never measure up to the expectations of his family. Growing up in a small town in South Dakota surrounded by stories of Norse mythology, Matt knows about the gods, their powers, and Ragnarök, the legend of the end of the world. What he soon finds out is that as a descendant of the Norse god Thor, he has been chosen to stand in as the leader in the final battle. It is up to Matt to convince two troublemaking cousins, Laurie and Fen Brekke, who are descendants of the trickster god Loki, that they must join together and find others who will each bring different skills and abilities and help the three in their the quest to save humans. The characters move from one adventure to another, fighting trolls and unseen forces, with friendships being forged and strengthened as each obstacle is passed. The background and explanation of the legends are clear and a natural fit to the story and dialogue, bringing life to lesser-known Norse mythology. The story moves quickly from the very beginning to the end. The final chapter leaves loose ends, and readers will certainly want the sequel. Recommended for those who enjoyed Rick Riordan's "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series (Hyperion), and younger readers who have not yet been introduced to contemporary adaptations of mythology.—Denise Moore, O'Gorman Junior High School, Sioux Falls, SD. Copyright 2016 School Library Journal.